• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Kija

OpenGL Managed DirectX

This topic is 4730 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I'm pretty new to DX but I've been using C++ / OpenGL a bit. I've browsed this forum and other sites for some time now and I stumble upon it all the time, Managed DirectX, Managed C++, C#, .NET. And to me, it's all a mystery. I can see the difference between C++ and C#, but is C# always "managed" and C++ can be "managed"? And primarily, what is meant by "managed"? I can't really find any good explanation of all these terms so if someone could point me to one it would be great. To my understanding managed directx / c# has the advantage of easier developing but a small performance hit. I've read that it should be ~95% of native code. That doesn't seem bad at all. I want to create fast and nice games, mainstream like world of warcraft, doom3 and so on, is Managed DirectX + C# something for me? Will Vista / DX10 be more focused on Managed DirectX + C#? Many questions :) Hopefully some of them can be answered. Thanks in advance.

Advertisement
Quote:
Original post by Kija
And primarily, what is meant by "managed"?

"Managed code" is code written in a language [variant] that targets the .NET Common Language Runtime (CLR). It is called managed because a number of low-level operations are mediated, such as memory management and system access/interaction, in such a way as to mitigate the risks of unexpected behavior within the code - to "manage" the behavior of the code.