Sign in to follow this  
kzar

When are public variables in a class OK?

Hi, I am pretty new to c++ but I am learning it because I have to for uni. Anyway I am starting to get the hang of it but I have got a bit confused making my animation class's. Then I looked at the cone3D tutorial to see how he did it and I noticed to get variables between some of the class's he just made them public. Now until now I have be told by everyone to make all variables in a class private except very occasionaly, so I was wondering when you would use public variables? Normaly I could just make a get_bob() function to get the value of bob instead of making it public but when I have to get the value of a variable through two class's it gets a bit harder! Anyway thanks, David

Make a variable public when the point of the variable in the class is just to have somewhere to store the data and make it accessible to anyone and everyone. However, in most cases that's not the purpose of a variable in a class.

If the variable can be changed to any value at any time without affecting anything else, and it is information that the world at large needs access to, then making it a public variable is fine.

If you have a simple 3d vector, for instance, making the x, y, and z variables public is probably OK.

If you have a normalized 3d vector, though, they shouldn't be public. x, y, and z can not take on any random values, they can only take on points on the unit sphere.

CM

Guest Anonymous Poster
Quote:

Normaly I could just make a get_bob() function to get the value of bob instead of making it public but when I have to get the value of a variable through two class's it gets a bit harder!

How do you mean?

If ClassA contains an object ClassB, and ClassB contains an integer SomeValue, you could do this (providng you had the relevant get / set routines):

instanceOfClassA.getInstanceOfClassB().getSomeValue();