Linked list with templates problem

Started by
3 comments, last by Trillian 18 years, 5 months ago
Hello! This is my first time making a linked list and using templates. However it works quite well except I get a bug when calling a function. The Linked list is supposed to have the following functionnality: -Supports any var types (templates) -Can always add new nodes -Each node has an index starting from 0 -Data can be accessed with the index Here's my class code:
[source lang=cpp]
template<class T>
class CD3DYXarray
{
protected:
	T * m_pData;
	CD3DYXarray * m_pNextNode;
	int m_nArrayPos;

public:
	CD3DYXarray()
	{
		m_nArrayPos=0;
		m_pData=NULL;
		m_pNextNode=NULL;
	}

CD3DYXarray(int num)
	{
		m_nArrayPos=num;
		m_pData=NULL;
		m_pNextNode=NULL;
	}

~CD3DYXarray()
	{
		m_nArrayPos=0;
		SAFE_DELETE(m_pData);
		SAFE_DELETE(m_pNextNode);
	}

void SetData(T * tData) { if(tData) m_pData = tData; }

void AddNode(T * tData)
	{
		if(m_pNextNode)
			m_pNextNode->AddNode(tData);
		else
		{
			m_pNextNode = new CD3DYXarray(m_nArrayPos+1);
			m_pNextNode->SetData(tData);
		}
	}

T * at(int num)
	{
		if(m_nArrayPos == num) return m_pData;
		if(m_pNextNode == NULL) return NULL;
		return m_pNextNode->at(num-1);
	}

void OutputContent()
	{
		printf("Array[%i] = %i\n",m_nArrayPos,*m_pData);
		if(m_pNextNode)
			m_pNextNode->OutputContent();
	}
};

All functions work well with an unlimited number of nodes (i've tryed 3). EXCEPT the at() function. the at() function wont work, if the argument is 0, it outputs "0" if the argument is anything else, it bugs, runtime error. I am testing it with "int*" var types. please help!
Advertisement
I would highly recommend that rather than try to fix that [it is poorly written in several different ways], you just use std::list. Or, since you clearly want random access, std::vector.

However, the problem you are encountering is almost certainly that you're decreasing num when you recursively call at().

CM