Sign in to follow this  
hufeilxl

what's the different between software engine and hardware engine ?

hufeilxl    122
I am studying according to the software engine, but don't know according to the software engine with have according to the hardware engine what concrete differentiation, can someone tell me?

MetalRob    138
Quote:
Original post by hufeilxl
I am studying according to the software engine, but don't know according to the software engine with have according to the hardware engine what concrete differentiation, can someone tell me?

No offense, but I'm not sure what your actually asking.

CTar    1134
I'm not actually sure what you, mean, but I think it means what the difference between a software and hardware engine is.

You probably mean a graphics engine, here the difference is that the software engine uses the CPU, while the hardware engine uses the GPU (well also the CPU, but the GPU for many tasks). You have a GPU and a CPU, the CPU (also called the processor) contains "general purpose" instructions, while the GPU's instructions is specialized for graphics.

So the GPU can often compute graphics stuff faster, also it is a way to remove some of the work from the CPU. When doing calculations on the CPU you also have to send your data to the GPU so that it can use them.

Some years ago it was not common to have a graphics accelerator, so you had to do the calculations on the CPU. Today there is no reason (when working on games for the PC) to not use the GPU and take advantage of hardware acceleration. When working on games for cell phones for example you also need to use a software graphics engine since it, like old computers, can't do hardware acceleration.

Guest Anonymous Poster   
Guest Anonymous Poster