Good linux dist?

Started by
11 comments, last by Basiror 18 years, 4 months ago
Hi, I would like to download one of those linux dists that you can run directly from cd (btw, what is their name?). I would like you to suggest me one of them, a good one (plz not flamewars) considering these requirements: -Should be fast (both to load and to run). -Doesn't require exothic devices to be recognized, so keep it simple. -Must be VERY easy to use: I'm not a linux expert, and I would use it only in those situations where I cannot use the on system OS (it does not start, I'v just formatted, or something like this). By the way, how do work those USB pens linux dists? Thank you.
Advertisement
Great to hear! There are quite a few different distributions, and you'll hear different opinions about all of them from different people.

That being said, since you're new to the whole thing, I'd recommend "Linux for Human Beings": Ubuntu Linux ( http://ubuntulinux.org/ ). It's designed to be easy to use, and it's also one of the most popular distributions right now. It's based on Debian (which is rock-solid and one of the oldest distributions around), and it has one of the best package managers (APT, from Debian), which will make new software installation an absolute snap if you decide to install the distro on your hard drive.

I should say I haven't actually used ubuntu linux's liveCD, but I do use Debian which it is based on, and Ubuntu's reputation in the linux community speaks for itself. I'd say it's the BEST place to start.

If you want some more choices, you can also look into the knoppix liveCD (which was the original liveCD as far as I know, and is still pretty user-friendly), and see www.distrowatch.com for comprehensive information on just about every distribution (liveCD and non). Most of the regular distributions have a liveCD version (just like ubuntu).