Newbie Problem

Started by
4 comments, last by wortel 18 years, 5 months ago
Shame my first post had to be a help request... I did look around to see if there was already help for this topic but i couldn't find any anyway, i got hold of VS.net 2003 and directx SDK. After working on some code that works on my local university's computers (i'm a student), i went to build the code and received this error: LINK : fatal error LNK1104: cannot open file 'dxerr9.lib' now i looked around in the VS.net folder on my machine, it wasn't there. after looking in the DXSDK folder i found it. Please could someone help me with this problem? Note: i'm new at using these software
Advertisement
Right click on your project in the solution explorer then select properties.

Click Linker -> General -> Additional Library Directories, then add the path to you lib file into this list.
ok, i followed what you said, but it gave way to six more problems:

DXUT.obj : error LNK2001: unresolved external symbol _IID_IDirect3DSwapChain9
DXUTmisc.obj : error LNK2001: unresolved external symbol _IID_IDirect3DBaseTexture9
DXUTmisc.obj : error LNK2001: unresolved external symbol _IID_IDirect3DTexture9
DXUTmisc.obj : error LNK2001: unresolved external symbol _IID_IDirect3DCubeTexture9
DXUTmisc.obj : error LNK2001: unresolved external symbol _IID_IDirect3DVolumeTexture9
DXUTmisc.obj : error LNK2019: unresolved external symbol _D3DXCreateFontIndirectW@12 referenced in function "public: long __thiscall CDXUTResourceCache::CreateFontIndirectW(struct IDirect3DDevice9 *,struct _D3DXFONT_DESCW const *,struct ID3DXFont * *)" (?CreateFontIndirectW@CDXUTResourceCache@@QAEJPAUIDirect3DDevice9@@PBU_D3DXFONT_DESCW@@PAPAUID3DXFont@@@Z)
Debug/EmptyProject.exe : fatal error LNK1120: 6 unresolved externals

i do apologise for all this
There's another library missing in the linker options. (d3d9.lib ?)