Sign in to follow this  
The Orange Peanut

BA v BS and accredited degrees

How much difference is there between a BS in CS and a BA in CS when trying to get a job after college? I'm a computer science major with an English minor so the highest level math course required is only calculus. I will graduate with a BA in CS, basically, instead of a BS in CS (which is only available if I am a math minor). Is my CS education going to be any worse with a BA in CS? And will it make finding a job more difficult than with a BS? Also, my degree isn't nationally accredited (once again, only the math minor falls under that category). Is that going to pose a problem if I intend to get a graduate degree later on? I'm asking these questions because, like I said, I'm not a math minor and I have no intention of minoring in math. I just don't want to go to school for 4 years and go $30,000 in debt for a useless degree.

Generally speaking, to my knowledge there's little difference between a BA and a BS in perception.

That said, there might be a difference in focus, and a difference in the education. The actual education differences might effect your job hunt, but [imo] the BS/BA difference won't. Personally, I'd consider only 1 year of advanced math not enough; enough that it will likely bite you in the long run.

And non-accredited degrees will most definately cause you problems later. Again personally, I would be very suspect of even the math version if your school tries to pawn off a 4 year degree in computer science that isn't accredited.

There is a direct proportionality between the size of an organization and how much they care about things like this. In great big corporations, with extremely bureaucratic procedures, it matters a lot - they have lots of H.R. folks with nothing to do but write procedures manuals and once those are written, its in nobody's interest to rock the boat so if the book says "B.S. Degree" then that's what the book says.