Sign in to follow this  
GenuineXP

Help with Beginning Isometric Game

GenuineXP    262
Hello. I'm working on a remake of the old DOS game called Jetpack, and I decided awhile ago that I wanted to make my game isometric. I'm using SDL and I've created very simple games before, but I'm still a beginner for the most part. Any guidance is greatly appreciated. My approach so far seems to be too simplistic. For positioning, I'm using some simple equations I came up with awhile ago. Here, x and y are 2D screen coordinates, while w, z, and u are 3D isometric coordinates. Also, a is the ratio of the height to width of each tile's base in the system. For my game, this is 1 / 2. c is a vertical compression factor. K is a 2D vector from the origin of the view port to the 2D position of the isometric origin of the projection.
x = w - z + Kx
y = aw + az + Ky - uc
w = ax + y + u - aKx + Ky
z = y + u + ax - x - Kx - aKy
u = [ a( w + z ) + Ky - y ] / c