Sign in to follow this  
Assembler015

SOLVED (Crappy ATI): varing variables in GLSL

Assembler015    122
EDIT: I posted my solution as post#11 Hello - I'm pretty new to pixel shaders and have been having some troubles lately. All I'm trying to do is shade a sphere but I can only seem to get it to 'work' in a hacked-up-way. I think I've tracked down the problem to the normals being used. So if I do something like this in the vertex shader:
varying vec3 n

void main (void)
{
    n = gl_Normal;
    gl_Position = ftransform();
}

and use that variable 'n' in the fragment shader it appears to be wrong. However, if I use a uniform variable in the fragment shader and set my normal manually on a per face basis, it looks correct. (So I do something like this in the program):
while(vertices to render)
{
    glUniform3fARB(my_normal, nx,ny,nz);
    /*glNormal3f(nx,ny,nz);*.

glBegin(GL_TRIANGLES)

glVertex3f()...glVertex3f()...glVertex3f()

glEnd()
}

and then access the my_normal variable in the fragment shader in place of the normal specified via glNormal3f it shades correctly. So I'm wondering, how does the varying variable work? I have an idea of how it works, but I'm thinking I must be wrong because otherwise my shader would work. If I set a varying variable to 0.0 for the vertices in the vertex shader, will it always be 0.0 in the fragment shader? Also, does the varying variable interpolate on a per triangle basis? Thanks --Andrew [Edited by - Assembler015 on November 13, 2005 12:47:31 PM]

rollo    366
You forget to transform your normal in the vertex shader. You transform the position, but not the normal:

void main (void)
{
n = gl_Normal;
}

should read

void main (void)
{
n = gl_NormalMatrix * gl_Normal;
}

fttransform() does the following calculation: gl_ModelViewProjectionMatrix * gl_Vertex. The reason that there is a special function for it is to ensure compability with fixed-function hardware. It will probably be the same result on your machine.