• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
VahnRPG

Delusions of 2d grandeur - OpenGL or DirectX?

This topic is 4862 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I've been a programmer for the past 5 years or so, but most of it has been basic c++ stuff (console work and soforth) or z80 ASM (TI-graphing calc stuff) and I'm looking to increase my abilities. What I believe I am lacking is graphic programming things, so I've picked up a couple of books and read some tutorials but I become frustrated because most of it seems to focus on programming in 3d. So, I looked at SDL and Allegro and they seemed...I dunno...TOO easy. Strange as it may seem, I kind of want to struggle and become frustrated with OpenGL or DirectX in trying to make even the simplest of programs. And I know it's possible to do 2d in those, but I'm not sure which would be better to go. I'll be blunt with you all. I played Cave Story, love it to death, and I want to make my own game similar to that. However, as far as I know, that was made in DirectX and it looks great. From what I've heard, OpenGL is good for portability and whatnot, but at times it seems TOO frustrating. My sprites will probably be 16x16 pixels, and OpenGL seems to be all about the floating point. I've got no clue what to do it get it smaller and...I dunno...am I looking in the wrong places for help or just not paying attention to what I should be doing? And is DirectX any better in that respect? Tho apparently DirectX and its APIs are slower compared to OGL? Does anyone understand what I'm trying to say? Cuz I think I lost it @_@ Thanks!

Advertisement
They both can render textures makes no difference, openGL calls have less overhead.. you should try looking at nehe and learning some of the basics.