Sign in to follow this  
MrSaturnFan

Passing a pointer in C

This should be easy stuff for you guys. Myself, I'm new to C... (sort of) What I'm trying to do is implement a linked list.
struct ALinkedList
{
    char* word;
    struct ALinkedList* next;
};

typedef struct ALinkedList* LinkedList;
I'll choose a very simple function. A function that initializes a list to null.
void initializeLL(LinkedList list)
{
     list = NULL;
}
int main()
{
     LinkedList list;
     initializeLL(list);
     if(list == NULL)
          printf("stuff");
     return 0;
}
It does not print "stuff". I thought if you passed a pointer to a function, it is automatically by reference. What's going on?

If you pass a pointer to a function the pointer is passed by value. What you seem to want to do is to pass a pointer to the pointer, i.e. a LinkedList *, and dereference that pointer.

void initializeLL(LinkedList * list)
{
*list = NULL;
}

Err...maybe i'm still not understanding. LinkedList is a pointer to a structure already. If i pass a pointer through the function, it's passing the address of the data i want to change. So it is giving me reference to what i want to change...no?

Guest Anonymous Poster
Quote:
Original post by MrSaturnFan
Err...maybe i'm still not understanding. LinkedList is a pointer to a structure already. If i pass a pointer through the function, it's passing the address of the data i want to change. So it is giving me reference to what i want to change...no?

No. You have a pointer (to struct ALinkedList) in main(), which points off to nowhere. You want the pointer in main to point to NULL. When you pass the pointer to the function, a copy of the pointer itself is made. The copy is set to null. The original is untouched.