Sign in to follow this  
Alucardbsm

Where to start?

Alucardbsm    134
Hi, I have wanted to get into game devoplement for a few years now but was not sure where to start. Someone pointed me into the direction of C#. Having absolutly no knoweldge but a great interest in this field, I am wondering how exactly do I start. I have gone out and bought books on C#, but is C# the right direction to get where I want to go? Seeing as I know practically no C# code what should I do to best learn this code? Since I'm a newbie in the C# code, any insight would help me greatly. Thanks

Chadivision    130
I have never worked with C#, but I've read a little bit about it and it looks like a good language. You may still want to consider C++ instead simply because, for game design, it is currently the most common language. Most of the books that you buy and the tutorials that you download will use C++. If you run into trouble and post a question on the GameDev.net forums, more people will be able to help you with C++ than with C#. Don't get me wrong. I'm not trying to bash C#. It very well may be the next big thing, but as of right now, C++ is more widely used.

No matter what language you decide to use, make sure to start small. At first, don't worry about how to make a game. Just learn the language. Once you understand the programming language, start working through some game design tutorials.

Next, write some game-like demos, but not full games. Usually the best thing to do here is to get code from a tutorial or from the CD-ROM of a game design book. Compile it and run the demo, then study it to figure out how it works. When you start getting a pretty good idea of what's going on, start experimenting by modifying the code. You can learn a lot by messing around with someone else's code.