Sign in to follow this  
adicted

Is this a viable architecture for a mmog ?

adicted    124
Hi all, I have been looking for information about programming a client/server architecture for a mmog, but i have only found bits of information and nothing really concrete. After all this reading i have figured out a possible solution but I'm not really experienced about network programming and possible issues this implementation could suffer. So I ask about your opinion and constructive crits about this implementation, and a little explanation about why it wouldn't work is welcomed, not just 'it wont work sorry!' Here it is: The world is partitioned into squares that will be called 'cells'( original, isn't it? ), they won't be very big so i will need thousands to fill the world. An array of cells will be called 'Zone'( :) ). Each zone is controlled by a server. Cells can be passed to another server if it's needed to balance the network. In the client side we check wich cells are visible and a request of the information available in the visible cells is sent ( players, npcs, etc. ). Information from various servers at the same time will be required if the player is viewing cells from various servers. The client side will have the cell 'topology' so it can check the cell visibility itself but it won't know wich server owns this cell so i think a master server with information about what server owns each cell will be needed. I would really like to skip this master server but i cant figure how the client will know which server owns a specific cell, because cells can be passed from server to server, with some restrictions. Well it's long enough, I hope it's not the dumbest post in the forum story, as I said before I have never tried such a thing. I'm awaiting your comments, Thanks!

_winterdyne_    530
The client should not decide which cells are visible. The server should. This stops someone hacking your client and requesting info on the whole game world.