How to create a 3d world for games??

Started by
10 comments, last by darookie 18 years, 4 months ago
i am a beginner in game design and development. i wonder how experienced ppl out there like yourselves create fancy and fully featured 3d worlds. i know of the use of texture mapping. but many effects i c in games are not merely textures. for example lighting effects, shadows, light reflections etc... are all of these programmed manually? or do designers design these effects on external tools and import them to games? or do they apply texturing for each bit pro grammatically? and, what is a 3d game engine? is it and IDE-like software that can be used to create games features, AI, design and so on?? i really hope i can get answers for these question and good links where i can start developing real 3D-like games. thanx Abolfoooud
Advertisement
Tyipcally, you write (or license) an "engine" which knows how to take various marked-up geometry, generated by artists, and render it with appropriate effects. Thus, an artist could build a level in 3dsmax, texture it, place lights, and particle systems. Then they would use an exporter that's targeted to the engine, and export the entire level as data, that the engine can load and render as appropriate.

So, the specific effect kinds ("lights", "particle systems" etc) are hand-coded, but the configuration and instantiation of them ("flourescent tube", "sunlight", "torch", "electric sparks" etc) are controlled by the artists, by building the right thing in the level editor.
enum Bool { True, False, FileNotFound };
thank u for ur reply...