Sign in to follow this  
Thevenin

HTTP Get/Post Parsing and Unicode Environment Variables.

Thevenin    270
As a test drive for the new C# programming language, I'm currently porting my thuasand line procedural C website code over to C#. I'm about midway porting my HTTP decryptor for CGI support when it suddenly arose in my head.. are the System.Globalization.Environment.GetEnvironmentVariable functions returning unicode strings? If so, than wouldln't CGI be passing %2A3F instead of just %2B? I'm a little confused. =/ Here is my code so far (Be warned, I'm very new to C#).
    /* 
     * Name: fRetrieveHTTPVariable
     * Programmer: XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX
     * Version: November 28, 2005.
     * Description: This function returns the unencrypted string variable from HTTP markup encryption.
     *              Note that the key must be between A - Z (Yes, it IS case sensitive).
    */
    public string fRetrieveHTTPVariable(char TheKey, string TheEncodedMarkup,
                                        bool TheAllowReturns, bool TheAllowSpaces, 
                                        bool TheAllowPunctuation)
    {
        string TheReturnString = null;

/* The first step is to make sure the key and the encoded markup were valid inputs. */
	    if(TheEncodedMarkup == null || TheEncodedMarkup.Length <= 3 || TheKey < 'A' || TheKey > 'Z')
    		return null;

/* Ok, lets first see if this string contains the key. */
        int TheStartLocationOfKey = TheEncodedMarkup.LastIndexOf(TheKey + "=");
        if(TheStartLocationOfKey == -1)
            return null;

/* Ok, lets now find out if it ends via a hard return or another ampersand. */
        int TheEndLocationOfKey = TheEncodedMarkup.LastIndexOf("&",TheStartLocationOfKey);

if (TheEndLocationOfKey == -1)
        {
            /* This means that the value of this key is the remainder of the string... */
            TheReturnString = TheEncodedMarkup.Substring(TheStartLocationOfKey);
        }
        else
        {