• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
jemuniz

a different way to model maps?

This topic is 4857 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I've been thinking about making a good map editor lately when I thought "why not use 3ds max? And while that may not be the best idea, it lead me to think about the current way that people model their maps. I have some experience using Valve's Hammer Editor, and the Unreal editor, and they both have the same method of use: you first map out the surfaces, then cover them individualy with a texture. What I am thinking is that you map it then make a texture that would cover the whole level with but one picture. This picture would be like the skins for models in most games. I don't see any problem with this way of mapping, however there might be some; I'm no expert. I would appreciate if people would confirm or reject whether my theory would work.

Advertisement
well using 3ds max is actually a good way to model maps in my opinion. however your idea would have to have a 4096x4096 image, which i'm not even sure if that will fit into vid memeory when its uncompressed. on top of that it would be an absolute nightmare trying to get everything mapped perfectly without any stretching, to tell you the truth it would even be a pain to make the texture itself. although i understand your logic, but it just wouldn't work out.