• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Scanmaster_k

OpenGL OpenGL cooridnates

This topic is 4860 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi Im new at opengl and Im trying to set up a window to be able to handle some basic 3d drawing. The problem is with the coordinates. The origin (0, 0, 0) is in the center of the screen but I want it down at the left corner of my window. This is how I initializes openGL.
const bool CRenderer::initialize(const HDC dc, const GLsizei width, const GLsizei height)
{
	bool isSuccessfull = true;
	mhDC = dc;

setupPixelFormat();
	mhRC = wglCreateContext(mhDC);

if(wglMakeCurrent(mhDC, mhRC) == false)
	{
		isSuccessfull = false;
	}

mWidth = width;
	mHeight = height;

glViewport(0, 0, mWidth, mHeight);
	glMatrixMode(GL_PROJECTION);
	glLoadIdentity();

gluPerspective(55.0, static_cast<GLdouble>(mWidth / mHeight), 1.0, 100.0);

glMatrixMode(GL_MODELVIEW);
	glLoadIdentity();

glClearColor(0.0, 0.0, 0.0, 0.0);
	glClearDepth(1.0);
	glEnable(GL_DEPTH_TEST);

return(isSuccessfull);
}
Thanks for any help Scanmaster_K

Advertisement
That doesn't really make sense if you are using a perspective viewport. Any object drawn in 0,0,0 in camera space will either be clipped or fill the entire viewport (unless its a point or a line in which case it is interminate).
This is because the x and y screen coordinates (those used to actually draw the pixels) are calculated like this: xs = (x*m)/z, ys = (y*m)/z (m is a muiltiplicative factor in there to adjust for field of view)
As you can see, if z is zero then xs and ys are indeterminate. This is why when drawing using a perspective viewport the near clipping plane is set to greater than 0.0.
Explain what it is you are trying to draw and we can help you more easily.

Quote:
Original post by Scanmaster_k