• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
TopDeadCenter

Absolute newbie question Im Lost!

This topic is 4860 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Ok Ill start out by saying ive read most of the FAQs and searched around for a few days now. I understand a little but still am confused...heres my issue. Im willing to learn but dont know how to execute. I can model low polygon "worlds" fairly well (low polygons are good, right?) I have a 3d modeling program, Cinema 4d, and I have made a simple maze, like a dungeon. I want to learn how to navigate around it. At this point I dont have a game objective to pass the level or anything, I just want to walk around this maze ive created. Now Ive read that I need to be able to export as a .x file which cinema 4d does do. I also read that I need to know a programing language and Ive chosen C++. I do know actionscript, lingo, and html pretty well and understand them. I also know I need a compiler, and I have Visual C++. I am planning on buying a book to get started in C++ as I have no earthly idea about any of it but like I said before im willing to learn. How does one go about taking this model ive made and turning it into a world I can navigate around in? In super laymans terms, do i put the .x file in the compiler and add the code for the mouse and keyboard navigation?? Ive imported the cinema 4d file into director as a shockwave 3d file and had a little success...im still having a little trouble understanding collision detection but I want to take it further....use a method the "pros" use. Im sorry for my question being so basic but im not understanding the methodology of creating a 3d navigation after a 3d world is made in a 3rd party program.....go easy on me:) Matt

Advertisement