• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Kaisel

Video games and Toys

This topic is 5102 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I'm not very good with expressing ideas through words usually, and the idea I have is something that I haven't really heard of before, but I'm going to give it a shot. When I was young and all, I'd play with toys, action figures and the likes, but usually I never had them as their own character, I usually had them stand in for a character of my own, which I guess looking back is a tad silly. And of course my friends and I would build worlds and stories for these characters based just on what was lying around. Now, my idea, or question is could this style of play be turned into a game? I know there are a lot of games where a person can be the dungeon master, or create a module or world for their friends, or to upload to the net, and I guess the idea is similiar, but, I guess the game I imagine would be something for storytellers primarily. I guess I have two questions: 1.) Is it possible to translate that "playing with toys" mentality, of creating a world/plot/characters with your imagination into a video game? 2.) Would it be fun? Or would the "game" have to include dialogue editors, cinema creators and the like? Feel free to say the idea is stupid, it's just a random idea I've had, wonder if there's any real merit to it.

Advertisement
First of all, it M U S T be a multiplayer game. Playing alone with real toys might be fun, but with virtual toys, it would just be lame. You want the player to create his own world, right? Then he would have to write his own dialoge. There is no point in working hard and typing the dialoge if no one is going to read it.