• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
tig_rig

Doom style maze game- help please.

This topic is 5095 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I want to learn to program a doom style game. The playability and visual appearance does not have to be to todays standard. It will be my first programming effort in 22 years. I have access to visual studio and would like to get a grasp of c++ but i am torn in which direction to go. Do I get a basic engine and disect it and add my own stuff, or do I start from fresh. Please remember I am only looking to achieve a doom1 style finish. I am trying to keep my expectations low as I know I will still have a moutnain of stuff to learn to achieve doom1 standards. I do not want to waste the winter learning the wrong product. I have been a product designer and manufacturer for the last 20 years working in aerospace and using Catia and Pro Engineer so I am familiar with 3D construction. My interests are moving to robotics and I want to be able to drive a robot from data fed to the computer from outside sensors. Initially I would like to understand how to program a maze or corridor game to get me started. Do I start with C++ or is there an interim way in which I can be dropped in to c++. Would I be as well using Torque or Gmax or similar. Please help - I do not know which way to turn and I want to start(on the right foot) ASAP.

Advertisement