• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
zethon

Direct3D & Windows Common Controls

This topic is 4861 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello, I'm fairly new to DirectX but not at all new to Win32. I'd like to use a regular windows common control on my Direct3D surface. I can use CreateWindowEx just fine to create my control, but I can't figure out how to get my Direct3D scene to stop rendering over top of it. How can this be done? I was thinking that maybe I could have the part of the screen where the common control (an edit box) is not be rendered. In Win32/MFC there are regions which you can define not to be drawn -- is there any such thing in DirectX? Or is there a better way to do this? Thanks!

Advertisement
I haven't done this before, but maybe you could just call the paint method for the control at the end of your render frame, after you call Present. You would have to know for sure that the Present call updated the screen, so it may not work with swap chains. It may not work at all. You could define an extra viewport and not render anything to it.

I think it is done with scissors, SetScissorRect and such.

Alternatively, you could use a 3 phase rendering: (not tested, just an idea)
0. Clear window with Z-Buffer enabled.
1. Draw rectangles with a Z value that is lower than any
Z value of your geometry, positioned where the simple gdi controls are (x,y,dx,dy)
(in a way that they overlapp each other).
2. Draw the gdi controls.
3. Draw the whole scene normally. (since the rest of the scene would appear "behind" the drawn directx rectangles).
Flickering should be expected though with this technique.

If you could make use of custom draw gdi control and render the content to a memory context, you could use that data to blit in the directx on a surface,
avoiding flickering.

Guest Anonymous Poster