• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
RKillian

Some things I'm having trouble figuring out (graphics, timing, etc)

This topic is 4853 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I've been doing programming for several years, from console driven C++ to Windows C# more recently, but every time I try to apply it to games I find myself getting stuck on the same issues every time. If it helps as all, the game I would like to write is an MMORPG similar to Ultima Online without the isometric view. The basic structure would be a client that sends very basic input and recieves a list of things to draw while the server uses one timer to regulate game flow and another to do database I/O. I should probably mention my prior experience was with UO through scripting for the closed source POL engine and the more recent attempt at this was pushed by being completely baffled at how RunUO (the C# emulator) works. So, at any rate, the 3 problems I keep running into are timing/events, graphics, and input...all of which are pretty much related in some way. Keep in mind, I'd really like to stay within either the MFC or Forms framework if possible. How can I have some sane control over the rate of input? If I use regular events, holding down a key floods the message queue. If I keep polling, the system seems to lock up with no idle time. Sometimes I run into a problem of missing input if I don't hit at precisely the right time when it's looking. Throwing sockets into the equation complicates it further. I haven't ever been able to get callback timers to work. They either cause weird compile errors in the environment or simply don't work right. Also I'm wary about what order the message handler executes, as I haven't been able to find a source that says "it's completely orderly FIFO" or "every event starts a thread". Second, UO has a nice feature that allow