• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Lord Hen

Where to go from here?

This topic is 4857 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I feel like Im stuck. I love programming. Ive had 'programmers block' for ~2 years. Its hard for me to finish a project, or even get halfway through. I want to go into the programming industry. But I dont know what to do next. Ive never taken a class, Im self-taught, and know a good number of languages fairly well. I seem to have a lot of trouble with design, in specific. Ill start off with an idea, make some classes to handle things that Ive made 20000 classes for in the past (ie. clsImage, clsImageManager, clsAnimation - if i decided to make a game). And once Im done with those.. I cant put them together right. What can I do to get better at that? I've tried to 'design' the program before I start writing. I don't really know how. Ive looked at some articles on gamedev about design docs and such. They didnt help me much. Ive read about UML. Ill probably buy a book on it soon. Is there anything else I should look at? UML seems to be for people who are in teams and such. Maybe not. If you read all this, thank you. If you have any insight that might help, please reply =)

Advertisement
Sounds like you need an idea that gets you excited about working through to completion. Then you need a project plan.

First you need to create some design off of your idea. Some people like a bottom up approach, very similar to what it sounds like you've been doing. Basically you start right at the details and work your way up. Other people like a top-down approach. They want to see the big picture and work through all of the big interconnections before starting.