Starting a programming project at work -- need advice!

Started by
2 comments, last by eastcoastsurfer 18 years, 4 months ago
So I've started working at a new company recently. An engineering firm, after I quit my last job as a lab technician because I got bored. Cut to the chase, and fast forward to two days ago. The boss (who happens to be a CS minor and electrical engineer) calls me to his office, and blutly asks me how much I know about programming and databases like SQL. I explained to him I know some C++, a bit of Pascal, PHP, that I've made worked a bit with visual basic, and that I have tinkered with mySQL for a few websites. He asks me if I'd like an office, and a job as the companies new programmer (WHAT!?). I accept his offer, on the condition that he understands I have zero experience with big projects, and that I might take a while to learn things. He assures me this is allright, explains the project to me for about 2 hours, and tells me my office will be ready in a few days. The Jist of the project is this: At work, we use a management program called M1 (learn about it here: M1 Software ) we use it for everything at work really, financial record keeping, work-order tracking, tickets, etc. The program uses MSDE and uses VB Script. My boss wants to add new "modules" to M1, so that we can do more things with it. Just like in visual basic, everything in M1 is designed in forms, which populated with different controls and such. The customization tool looks very simmilar to VB evironment. The project doesn't look very difficult, most of the work is populating grids with data from the database, and creating various entry forms for different things. And VBScript is about as simple as it gets I would imagine, but I've never been asked to do this, so im very nervous I wont be able to do what he wants. He eventually wants to put the forms on the website (which makes sense, but im not sure how this would work?) so clients can customize products they want made by o