• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
billconan

OpenGL how come polygon doesn't appear

This topic is 4859 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

hi guys, i'm new to gl, i'm now following the opengl guide (redbook), i ran the first sample of the book, but no polygon was showed out as it is said in the book. the book's sample uses some head files which i can't find. the sgi ftp cannot be connected. so i modified the sample a bit. here is it:
#include <GL/glut.h>
#include <stdlib.h>

void init(void) 
{
   glClearColor (0.0, 0.0, 0.0, 0.0);
   glShadeModel (GL_FLAT);
}

void display(void)
{
	glClearColor(0.0, 0.0, 0.0, 0.0);
	glClear(GL_COLOR_BUFFER_BIT);
	glColor3f(1.0, 1.0, 1.0);
	glOrtho(-1.0, 1.0, -1.0, 1.0, -1.0, 1.0);
	glBegin(GL_POLYGON);
	glVertex2f(-50, -50);
	glVertex2f(-50, 50);
	glVertex2f(50, 50);
	glVertex2f(50, -50);
	glEnd();
	glFlush();
}

void reshape (int w, int h)
{
   glViewport (0, 0, (GLsizei) w, (GLsizei) h); 
   glMatrixMode (GL_PROJECTION);
   glLoadIdentity ();
   glFrustum (-1.0, 1.0, -1.0, 1.0, 1.5, 20.0);
   glMatrixMode (GL_MODELVIEW);
}

void keyboard(unsigned char key, int x, int y)
{
   switch (key) {
      case 27:
         exit(0);
         break;
   }
}

int _tmain(int argc, _TCHAR* argv[])
{
   glutInit(&argc, argv);
   glutInitDisplayMode (GLUT_SINGLE | GLUT_RGB);
   glutInitWindowSize (500, 500); 
   glutInitWindowPosition (100, 100);
   glutCreateWindow (argv[0]);
   init ();
   glutDisplayFunc(display); 
   glutReshapeFunc(reshape);
   glutKeyboardFunc(keyboard);
   glutMainLoop();
   return 0;
}
there should be a white box in the middle of the screen, but what i got is only a solid black background. :( so what's the problem? thank you! screen shot:

Advertisement
Quote:
Original post by billconan