• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
tris123

need help

This topic is 4859 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

im new to game programming but i dont have time to learn all the really basic stuff, and i dont think i need it. I read the thing on this site and that didnt help at all, and im really good at visual basic anyways. Im getting C++ and im probably going way ahead of myself but im getting Animatek World Builder 3.0. but what books and programs should i get apart from those?. Any help would be help anything from 3D model programs to game programming code books(remember im trying to get into 3D programming).

Advertisement
If you're really serious about learning game programming, you're going to need all that basic stuff. Game programming is really the art of data structures used efficiently, with a graphical output thrown in for good measure. Not to say you can't start out by coding games first, just don't expect to be doing it all right after you jump off the board.

As most people will recommend, your first titles will likely be along the lines of Tic-Tac-Toe, Pong, and then either a Tetris or Asteroids clone. These are reasonable goals and they will give you a very good idea of what goes on in making a game. Plus you'll find what works and what doesn't, and who knows, you might even come out with a little library of functions that you've found helpful in working on these projects.

Or, you could be a nut like me and continue with console titles and have fun working on Roguelikes. [smile]

Oh, and as far as C++ books goes, I've always had fond memories of Deitel & Deitel's C++: How To Program. It's presented much like a college textbook, which some people find very helpful.