• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Ned_K

Collision detection question

This topic is 4860 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Ok, I've been going over various tutorials on collision detection and the like and I'm becoming familiar with the requirements (I have a math degree so the math isn't an issue), but I have one question. How do you avoid having a huge matrix of distances between all objects on a game level that are subject to collision? I mean, you always have to know where everything is (relative to everything else) and the only way to know if a collision detection event is probable is to keep track of ALL relative distances and continuously update them. What are the techniques for the pre-collision detection? I'm thinking of an array of distances between eligible objects (pretty much everything) that updates rows and columns only for any object that moves. If the object moves, all relative distances between it and anything it can collide with are updated. The problem with THAT, however, is what happens with a narrow object that you teleport PAST, for example. I was orginally thinking of some kind of signed distance, but this only works if the area behind the object collided with is a forbidden area. But this is a different question than the first. So, I kind of have a couple questions here. 1. How do you track distances between all objects on a game level without gigantic arrays? Or can you work around having to track these distances? 2. What do those distance numbers really break down to? If anyone has links to info on this I would greatly appreciate them! P.S. I'm coding in C

Advertisement