Sign in to follow this  
Megaboz

Help with face normal calculation code

Megaboz    122
Hello - I'm fairly new to 3D programming, and I'm having some issues calculating face normals so I can get the lighting correct in some very simple demos I'm making. This is the code I have so far:
void calculateNormal(float * passP1, float * passP2, float * passP3, float * normal)
{
        float l1, l2;
        float A[3];
        float B[3];

// Calculate lengths of two vectors
        l1 = sqrt(pow(passP2[0] - passP1[0], 2) + pow(passP2[1] - passP1[1], 2) + pow(passP2[2] - passP1[2], 2));
        l2 = sqrt(pow(passP3[0] - passP1[0], 2) + pow(passP3[1] - passP1[1], 2) + pow(passP3[2] - passP1[2], 2));

// Now calculate components
        A[0] = (passP2[0] - passP1[0]) / l1;
        A[1] = (passP2[1] - passP1[1]) / l1;
        A[2] = (passP2[2] - passP1[2]) / l1;

B[0] = (passP3[0] - passP1[0]) / l2;
        B[1] = (passP3[1] - passP1[1]) / l2;
        B[2] = (passP3[2] - passP1[2]) / l2;

// Now calculate the normal (A X B)

normal[0] = (A[1] * B[2]) - (A[2] * B[1]);
        normal[1] = (A[2] * B[0]) - (A[0] * B[2]);
        normal[2] = (A[0] * B[1]) - (A[1] * B[0]);
}
I basically just have a spinning cube right now, and the lighting is working, but the sides are changing shades at the wrong times - I'm assuming my normal calculation is either incorrect or I'm passing the vertices to the function in the incorrect order. I'm not great with vector math, so if anyone sees any issues with the above code I would be very appreciative for your help. If not, I'll have to go back and look at the order I'm passing vertex data. Thanks a ton!

Grain    500
It looks correct.