Sign in to follow this  
brwarner

Distributing MDX apps

I am semi-new to MDX programming and have come to a point were I want to distribute a copy of the application. I used C# Express to make an install file and tried to install it on my computer and when it tries to run the application it says "Count not find Media file, ensure DirectX SDK is properlly installed" yet I can run it fine in debug in C# and I have the October 2005 release of DirectX SDK. CAn someone tell me what to do I am new at making setup files [Edited by - brwarner on December 3, 2005 2:37:54 PM]

Hmm - try using the publish wizard ( if you didnt already ) and make sure you have the RUNTIME of the DirectX 9.0c not just the SDK

I already had DirectX 9.0c Runtime and DirectX SDK October 2005 yet it still wont start. I had used the publish feature in C# the first time. I dont understand why it runs in C# when I debug but not on the computer.

The problem is likely that you're using parts of the D3D utilities wrapper library, which looks for files in a folder called "Media" (for example for using with the UI). Do a search across your application AND the distributed framework for the name "Media", and then make sure that the parts you need out of the SDK folder can be found by your application (typically, copied into a Media folder in your applications' install folder).

To see exactly where the problem is coming from, attach the debugger to your process when your application is showing that dialog box, and then Break All, and see where the stack trace is coming from.

You could try finding that error message (or better yet, the catches for the MediaNotFoundException) in the sampleframework utility classes using 'find in files'. Once you have the locations, you can add some code to show a message box with the file and line number where the exception was caught or thrown.