Sign in to follow this  
BTownTKD

bummed about school.

Hey all, I'm a student at the University of Michigan. I recently realized, in going for a Computer Science degree at the LS&A college that I'm looking at a 5-year college experience just for a bachelors. This is my 3rd year right now. I'm kind of bummed that it's going to take so long, and that there's going to be so many extra courses that don't really seem necessary for game programming (i.e. STATS and CALC II/III, and Physics II). On the other hand, a friend of mine is just about to start college in the spring at some game development school in Florida. He will theoretically have a bachelor's in game programming in 2 years. 5 years vs. 2 years? Am I wasting my time here, or is this a worthwhile educational pathway? I mean, I'll have a degree from the U of M, which is pretty impressive, and a degree in computer science, which is a little more versatile than a degree in game programming, but on the other hand, U of M only has ONE game design-related class... will this put me at a disadvantage when trying to find a job in game programming? And is this Florida school for real? That seems like a too-good-to-be-true gimmick, somehow... I guess I'm just looking for either some kind of support or reassurance that continuing with U of M will be beneficial, or some kind of warning like "get out quick and follow your friend to Florida." Also, some reasoning behind the response would be nice, lol ;-)