Sign in to follow this  
massive-war

Ok, so I'm a new artist... what should I get?

I need to make models, levels (dungeons and dark places, so I don't need anything huge like maxx or maya), and weapons. Any ideas? I'm a new artist because I have only programmed before. Thanks in advance, Massive-war

blender and the gimp ?

thoses 2 are almost as good as 3dmax and photoshop... some would argue blender is better.

they are 100% free

Try 3D Canvas. It's cheap and easy to learn and use. Really effective at modelling low-poly models. Like machines, weapons, buildings, space ships and such. Haven't tried to model landscapes and such with it though.

Blender is a relatively powerful modeling program with more features than you'd ever want to use. If you're newish to modeling, I'd recommed going with an easier to use program like Rhino. Rhino rocks you like a hurricane for NURBS modelling, but it is a tad expensive. Milkshape, 3D Canvas, and Wings3D all aren't too shabby, though I wouldn't really call any othem particularly intuitive.

Guest Anonymous Poster
DON'T GET MILKSHAPE!
Pure evil.
Blender is far superior in every way. In fact every program on earth is as far as I'm concerned. When something as good as Blender is free paying for milkshape is like burning money with a sharp stick in your eye.

I wish you could just ignore certain posts instead of all ratings below 960. Then I could just click the 'ignore' button on AP's post, there.

Anyways, I don't know why MilkShape3D is evil. It's what I started with. Made the models for the 4E3 contest with it. Simple to learn, and fairly cheap. Not nearly as powerful as the other programs out there.

Blender is great, but ridiculously hard (for many, including me) to learn.

Personally, I use 3DSMax now. Wonderful. We have Maya here too, but I didn't feel like restarting the learning process again.