Sign in to follow this  

First game - submitted for feedback

This topic is 4381 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I've self-taught C++ for about a month. I have just completed my first game, an implementation of "High Low." It's very simple I know, but I will appreciate any feedback. Particularly, I am looking for whether anything I've done here could be done better/easier/faster, and any code design tips. Thanks in advance! // start code #include<iostream> #include<cstdlib> #include<string> #include<ctime> using namespace std; int roll(int dice = 1, int sides = 6); int max(int a, int b); void round(int& a, int& b, int& aWins, int& bWins, int& rds); int main(){ string p1Name; int p1Roll, compRoll; int rounds = 0, p1Wins = 0, compWins = 0; char playAgain = ' '; cout << "Welcome to the game of High Low!\n\n"; cout << "What is your name? " << flush; cin >> p1Name; cout << "Hello, " << p1Name << "!\n\n"; while (playAgain != 'n' && playAgain != 'N'){ round(p1Roll, compRoll, p1Wins, compWins, rounds); cout << "\nYou have won " << p1Wins << " out of " << rounds << " rounds."; cout << "\n\nWould you like to play again? " << flush; cin >> playAgain; } return 0; } int roll(int dice, int sides){ int temp = 0; int result = 0; static srand((int)time(0)); for (int i = 0; i < 10; i ++) rand(); // randomize it a little better for (int i = 0; i < dice; i++) temp = rand() % sides + 1; result += temp; return result; } int max(int a, int b){ if (a > b) return a; else if (b > a) return b; else return 0; } void round(int& a, int& b, int& aWins, int& bWins, int& rds){ int winner; a = roll(); b = roll(); winner = max(a, b); cout << "You rolled " << a << endl; cout << "Computer rolled " << b << endl; if (a == winner){ cout << "\n\nYou win!"; aWins ++; } else if (b == winner){ cout << "\n\nComputer wins!"; bWins ++; } else if (winner == 0) cout << "\n