Sign in to follow this  

problem with SDL_DisplayFormat

This topic is 4382 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I'm fairly new with SDL. What I want to do is load an image and display it. For fast blitting, I convert it to the display format using SDL_DisplayFormat. Here's how I load my image:
// initialize SDL first...

SDL_Surface *image = IMG_Load("image.png"); // load image
if (image != NULL) {
    // convert to display-native pixel format, for fast blitting
    SDL_Surface *dfImage = SDL_DisplayFormat(image);
    SDL_FreeSurface(image);

if (dfImage != NULL) {
        LOG("with = " << dfImage->w << ", height = " << dfImage->h << ", pitch = " << dfImage->pitch);

if (dfImage->pixels == NULL)
            LOG("pixels NULL!");
    }
}
As I have indicated, I initialize SDL before executing this code. When I call SDL_SetVideoMode with flags SW_SURFACE, then everything works fine and the output appears to be correct:  with = 76, height = 67, pitch = 304 When I call it with flags SDL_HWSURFACE | SDL_DOUBLEBUF | SDL_FULLSCREEN, then I get the following:  with = 76, height = 67, pitch = 320  pixels NULL! Why is the pixels data NULL in this case? The surface seems to be unusable that way. And why is pitch 320 instead of 304? (Note: 76 width * 4 depth = 304 pitch) Is it not possible to convert pixelformat to a hardware-surface? I thought it's just the same, converting to 4 byte color depth. I'm using WindowsXP, VisualStudio, Cpp, SDL for graphics and an NVIDIA GeForce FX 5200 graphics card, if it matters. Thanks for help! [smile]

if you make a surface the same as the display surface, and your display is hardware( ie, graphics memory), then you cant access it via that pointer.