Sign in to follow this  

Lua Question: Multiple States

This topic is 4369 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi everybody, This is my first time in the world of scripting, but I want to try and make this game I'm making as expandable as possible. So, I thought I would have Lua scripts control the enemies. So I started programming, but then I kind of got stuck on something. This might be a really stupid question, but is it best to use a different lua_State for every enemy (with different AI), or is it better to have one overarching lua_State that controls everything? Sincerely, LZR

I have been pondering this one myself. Perhaps an answer from the fellow who did the magic on Far Cry's VM and scripts..

I have seen so many suggestions to go with multiple states, but I fail to have found an actual reason why.

For instance, I have a fair amount of table "templates" that are used to clone into the real objects that are used within the system. At the same time, a number of other static tables exist ("Server", etc.) that do most of the top end logic. I am running a single VM state, and at no less than 200 fps with hundreds of objects and communication with the host (C++, luaplus). Breaking up into multiple states would mean registering so many tables that are used with so many other states, plus the possibility that two objects that exist in different states cannot communicate with each other? I'm not sure, as the docs don't specify that exactly.

So, I have yet to find a reason to use more than one state. If somebody can provide a rational one, that would be much appreciated.