Sign in to follow this  

[.net] QuadTree in C#

This topic is 4381 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi everyone! I just have a question.. Can anyone help me to find a nice guide to write a QuadTree in C# Managed DirectX.. I have done a QuadTree in C++ but i think is't a little more difficult to write it in C# there the most syntax and the pointers are gone.. or just to difficult to understand. I'd be glad fore any kind of help.. //Esperanza

I thought that to that it will be easy to port from C++ to C# but i'm a NOOB in the C# area.. i have only worked with it a couple of weeks.. but do you have some links or do you know any tutorials that might help?
I need help with the entire quadtree.. i know how to the boxes and stuff like that.. but it's the the code that generates the quadtree that is the mayor problem..

//Esperanza

I'm not sure if you have trouble understanding how a quadtree is constructed? If that's so, I suggest you read up on quadtrees.
There is a QT tutorial here at gamedev:
http://www.gamedev.net/reference/articles/article1303.asp

If C# is the problem, then I guess you should be able to find a ton of tutorials on the net.

I also found this at "The ZBuffer" (www.thezbuffer.com):
http://www.eteractions.com/
I haven't checked it out, but it's supposed to contain a C# implementation of a QT.

Hope this gets you started...

No i'm not having trouble with understanding how a quadtree works and how it's constructet.. is just the C# i have problems with..
I have search the net for C# tutorials for QT but i havn't found any yet..
But i will check out the links that you posted..
Thanks..

one thing to remember with C# is that object reference more closely resemble C++'s object pointers. Yes, they are syntactically different, just imagine as if all the dereferencing is being done for you.

An example of what I mean