• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
yadaddy

OpenGL problem with depth + blending

This topic is 4690 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello! I'm relatively new to OpenGL. I want to do the following. I use glOrtho, because i want z-ordered objects. Imagine you have a background at a far layer and you want to draw a moving item in front of it. I do not want to clear the whole scene, redraw the background and then the moved item, i just want to clear the "moving item"-layer and leave the background unchanged (for example, the opengl pipeline draws it for me automatically, and not i manually). How can I do it? I have tried with displaylists (save background and paint it every move again), but this costs time and makes my program slow. Imagine I want to do something like the desktop of your system: background == the items moving item == mouse-selection-box But on desktop i dont have many items to repaint, in my programm this are far much more: many circles, lines (could be 100000 of such primitives or even more) with alpha-blending. So if you move your mouse, you see, that the background is updated slowly and the mouse-selection-box is hanging and stacking. So how can I solve this solution? I need only to have my mouse-selection-box redrawn and not the whole scene. thx. yadaddy.

Advertisement
Well if you are sure you really can't redraw the scene each time (sounds like a strange scene, what is it you are actually rendering?), then you could render to texture:
Basically you create another draw buffer in memory with a texture attached to it, then you render the background to this buffer. Then in the main buffer you draw a textured quad covering the entire screen with the texture, and your selection box over the top.
Also you could go old-school and use inverted colors on your selection box: