• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  

[java] Game Tools in Java

This topic is 4501 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello! I am a hobbist Java programmer. My current goal is to develop a tile editor for a 2D action game I will be making later this year. This is my current plan: 1. Create a full screen JFrame (nothing fancy, just a frame maxmized in both directions). 2. Divide the content pane into a grid that is 64x64 3. Use the right mouse-click to bring up a JColorChooser dialog box 4. Use the left mouse click to fill in the square 5. Enable F4 to bring up a JFileChooser and save the image I am currently familiar with most Swing components and the fundamentals of Java. My big concern is how to draw to the content pane in the way that I desire and then to be able to save the image in a proper format. Any advice would be apperciated. =)

Advertisement
Quote:
Original post by guyver23
Hello! I am a hobbist Java programmer. My current goal is to develop a tile editor for a 2D action game I will be making later this year. This is my current plan:

1. Create a full screen JFrame (nothing fancy, just a frame maxmized in both directions).

2. Divide the content pane into a grid that is 64x64

3. Use the right mouse-click to bring up a JColorChooser dialog box

4. Use the left mouse click to fill in the square

5. Enable F4 to bring up a JFileChooser and save the image

I am currently familiar with most Swing components and the fundamentals of Java. My big concern is how to draw to the content pane in the way that I desire and then to be able to save the image in a proper format.

Any advice would be apperciated. =)

First thing I'd point out is: why build a tile editor when you can use any gfx pgm (ms paint on up) to create gfx?