Rotate and then translate

Started by
3 comments, last by Skeleton_V@T 18 years, 3 months ago
Hello, I'm a beginner. I have a problem about Matrix. I want to move and rotate a object e.g. car. How can i translate it in right direction after it rotated. I have read the post before which is asking the same problem. The answer is translate the object back to (0,0,0), then rotate it, then translate back to before coordinates. D3DXMATRIX matIdentity; D3DXMatrixIdentity(matIdentity); // set object back to (0,0,0) m_pD3DDevice->SetTransform(D3DTS_WORLD, &matIdentity); // rotate oject D3DXMatrixMultiply(&matWorld, &matRotation, &matScale); m_pD3DDevice->SetTransform(D3DTS_WORLD, &matWorld); // set oject before translation D3DXMatrixMultiply(&matWorld, &matTranslation, &matRotation); m_pD3DDevice->SetTransform(D3DTS_WORLD, &matWorld); The result is the car still rotate in world coordinates, not local coordinates. Is that my concept totally wrong? Pls help...Thanks for reading~
Advertisement
You don't need to SetTransform () each time you modify the matrix. The idea is that from the Identity matrix, you multiply with Scale and Translation matrix, then Rotate it to the car's postition. The code will look like this:
D3DXMATRIX matWorld ;D3DXMatrixIdentity(matWorld);//Scale, Translate, then Rotate objectD3DXMatrixMultiply (&matWorld, &matScale, &matTranslation) ;D3DXMatrixMultiply (&matWorld, &matWorld, &matRotation) ;//Set DirectX's World matrixm_pD3DDevice->SetTransform(D3DTS_WORLD, &matWorld);

You may follow this link if there're any matrix problems remain.
--> The great thing about Object Oriented code is that it can make small, simple problems look like large, complex ones <--
thank you...Skeleton_V@T

I have read andypike's tutorial which is very good, and i got more understand about matrix...

And i implement the code...

// Save Translation
D3DXMATRIX matTemp = matTranslation;

// Set to (0,0,0)
D3DXMATRIX matInverse;