• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Kynes

Problem with a simple Cg shader

This topic is 4524 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello, I am new to Cg programming, and I am trying to run a cg shader program on a basic one-triangle-scene. I encountered some problems, so I made the shader as simple as possible : here is the vertex program :
struct VP_Output
{
	float4 pos	: POSITION;
	float4 color	: COLOR0;
};

struct VP_Input
{
	float4 pos	: POSITION;
	float4 color	: COLOR0;
};

VP_Output main ( VP_Input IN, uniform float4x4 modelViewProj )
{
	VP_Output OUT;

OUT.pos = mul(modelViewProj, IN.pos );
	OUT.color = IN.color;

//OUT.color.r = 0.5;

return OUT;
}

and the fragment program :
void main ( VP_Output IN, out float4 outCol : COLOR )
{
outCol = IN.color;
}
As you can see it is quite basic :) It works fine, untill I uncomment one line in the vertex program :
OUT.color.r = 0.5;
Then the triangle i draw with this shader program is not rendered anymore .. The triangle disappears the same way whatever value i assign to OUT.color, or when i add a TEXCOORD0 input parameter that i try to modify manually. I can't figure out what is wrong ; have you got any clue ?

Advertisement
Hi,

As a quick suggestion, have you tried 0.5f instead of 0.5?
I will try to test your shader later on and see if there are any other problems, but I am busy at the moment and not near my main development pc.

All the best,
ViLiO

hmmmm...that is odd. I used your source and was able to compile it with the compiler in the /bin directory that same with the Cg sdk. I got this output from the compiler:

23 lines, 0 errors.
vs.1.1
// DX8 Vertex shader generated by NVIDIA Cg compiler
// cgc version 1.4.0000, build date Sep 26 2005 21:50:31
// command line args:
// source file: C:\Documents and Settings\Main\Desktop\test.cg