• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  

C++ Books

This topic is 4496 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Greetings. Let me introduce myself. I'm currently a high school student. In a year, I'll be studying Computer Science in college, and then in university, to finally, and hopefully, become a game programmer. Currently, I mod and level edit for Star Wars Jedi Knight: Dark Forces 2 (I know it's a really old game, but as soon as I get a new PC, I'll move on). Nevertheless, I wanted to start programming with an independent language. After long researches, I concluded that I will learn those programming languages/APIs (in order of learning) before beginning to program game engines: - C++ - C - OpenGL - DirectX - Visual Basic (learn in college) - Java (learn in college) So I was looking for C++ books to help me learning before I go to college. Unfortunately, I bought "Sam's Teach Yourself in 21 days" some time ago. That was a mistake. However, I'm half way through the book, and I learned some basic C++ features (Functions, classes, loops, pointers, references, overloading, etc.) Now, I'd like to buy better books that explain the language fully. I was considering "C++ Primer Plus, 5th edition", by Stephen Prata, and "The C++ Standard Library", by Jossutis, to start with. Are those good choices for someone like me? If not, please suggest books that you think are good for beginners like me.

Advertisement
Accelerated C++, by Koenig and Moo. The Josuttis book is a 'must-have', also. After those, move on to Meyers' Effective C++, More Effective C++, Effective STL, and then onto some of Sutter's books.

"Teach your self ANSI C++ in 21 days" is a lot better than the other book but, if you want a full coverage of all the features of the language here it is:

"Bjarne Stroustrup The C++ Programming Language 3rd Ed"