• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
slippers2k

What's better - program a Palm handheld, or program a PocketPC?

This topic is 4516 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hey all, I spent a while thinking about this, and wanted to get your feedback, as it is quite possible that I might get a PocketPC handheld or Palm handheld today based on the outcome. I have been learning how to program for windows mobile for the last 3 months solid. I created a quick little snippet of a smartphone test app (which is basically pong, but with powerups), and converted it to a pocket pc format (I just have to clean up the code so it displays properly). I am also trying to start selling games through Handango.Com, and am feeling more confident in my ability to start creating fairly decent "cheapo" titles in the future (everything I sell on Handango will probably be $1 or less, no more than $5 at the most). My question is: am I selling to the right hardware? I'm torn between continuing to program for the pocketpc and sucking up the cost of one of those handhelds, or learning how to program for Palm handhelds and potentially re-learning the coding/compiling/deploying process for those machines. Windows may be the new kid on the block, but Palm handhelds are getting cheaper every day. (I have not forgotten Microsoft's powerful ability to throw money at its problems, however.) What is involved in programming for the Palm handhelds? Is is that much more complicated than using Visual Studio and the NETCompact framework for mobile devices like windows pocketpcs and smartphones? I would like to make mobile programs, but I also don't want to waste time programming for a device that I'm not going to get long-term exposure on. Thank you for reading my post. Happy New Year to you all, and thanks for any advice you can give. God bless you! -slippers2k