• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
InsaneBoarder234

Recommend me a book?

This topic is 4674 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I'm looking for a new game programming book but with there being so many around I wanted to get some opinions before handing over the money for a book that will disappoint me. I'm a C/C++ programmer and my preffered platform/API is Windows and DirectX. I've read "Tricks of the Windows Game Programming Gurus" by Andre LaMothe and I really liked it but I would like something similar that is 'a step up' from this and possibly more up to date (more Direct3D rather than DirectDraw). If this is a bit too specific then just something a little more advanced ('a step up') than Andre LaMothe's book. Hmm, not sure what else to say other than all suggestions are welcome and thanks for taking the time to hep me out. Thanks -Nick

Advertisement
There is a series of books you might want to check out then, I found them a while back, they are also by Andre LaMothe, There are second additions out now, the origonals which I started collecting were The Premier Press Game Development Series, it has books to cover just about everythign you can think of, Game Programming All in One starts by teach C++ while making games and goes on to doing 2D then 3D in DirectX, its kinda a genreal intro to the most of the bits. The series also has books specifically for RPG games or language specific, like Java2 Game programming or Visual Basic Game Programming with DirectX, which funny enough if you us VB as a language without the form generating stuff you can actually get really fast running programs, I got that book when I got the All-in-one I mentioned cuz I didnt know C++ yet. there are also books about data structures and physic modeling and AI. its a great series.