• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  

Generating territories (Like in Empire Earth 2) on a 2D-map with different terrain

This topic is 4424 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi all, as you see I'm new to this forum. I've been programming Delphi for about 8 years, but I'm still learning many new things... I use PHP for my homepage (which is temporarily down due to a Linuxworm), and I also understand a bit C/C++. So, now to the question. I'm working on a Turnbased Strategy game. In this game, I have a 2-dimensional array of different terraintypes (defined as an integer), out of this array I want to create another array containing the 'zone'/territory that the specific map area belongs to. Currently, I have 3 different terraintypes, they are: Land, Water, Shallow (both Land and Water units can travel on Shallow, but no buildings may be built). The current mapsize is 32x32, but I will probably enlarge it to 64x64 or even 128x128 later, when I got the computer AI up and running and add more players (currently it's only 3, but I'm planning for 8). I have some ideas for how to implement these zone generations, but I haven't put it to life yet. - Option: Minimum Zone size constant (defining the smallest size of a zone) - Option: Number of Zones to generate (Minimum-Maximum) - Check number of different areas grouped together (floodcount) - Create lines between one areagroup edge and another, max 2 lines from each area, find shortest line to nearest areagroup of the same type. Seperate the two sides of the line into different territories. - If areagroup isn't big enough (Minimum zone size constant) then count that areagroup (or parts of it) as another areagroup type. (For example, imagine a small island - 10 map areas - surrounded by water, if the minimum zone size constant is more than 10 then this small island will be in the same