• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  

a simple one with a simple answer

This topic is 4434 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I am new to OpenGL and I have a simple question that has to have a simple answer. How can I delay my drawing. Long story short, I need to create an application that has to draw points according to specific patterns and it should be done in an animated kind of way. So, I need to delay my drawing. Thanks a lot.

Advertisement
Well, inside your app logic you could use some sleep()'s or just keep track of time.

So basically you add a new point to render whenever you feel like it.

I think one method that could work in your situation is to use the current time to control a flag for when something is drawn. For example:

// tells when something should ne drawn
int doDraw[10] = {0};
static DWORD last = GetTickCount();

// If one second has passed (1 sec = 1000 ms)
if(GetTickCount() - last >= 1000)
{
static int ctr = 0;
doDraw[ctr] = true;
ctr++;

// Once the anim is complete, reset the anim
if(ctr >= 10)
{
ctr = 0;
for(int x = 0; x < 10; x++)
doDraw[x] = 0;
}
}

// Clear the screen here //

if(doDraw[0])
{
// Draw point 1
}
if(doDraw[1])
{
// Draw point 1
}
if(doDraw[9])
{
// Draw point 10
}

// Swap Buffers here //

That's one way to do it, but if you have a lot to do, then it might be too much. You'd have to give more details of what you are doing and what you're working with to give us a better understanding of what would work best for you.

make a point class with a Draw() routein and give the class a "delay" member. When the object is created set delay to 0. Then every frame loop through all your points call Draw(). Within draw there should be a test

if(delay < TIME_TO_DRAW)
{
delay++;
return;
}