• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Sphet

Lightmapper tutorials or help?

This topic is 4512 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hey all, Happy New Year. I'd like to write a lightmapper but don't really know where to start. Can anyone give me any links to tutorials? I havn't had much luck looking myself. I don't understand how to do the mapping for the second UV channel without destroying any coherency in the vertex. Also, since the mapper uses ray tracing, should I be super sampling the geometry so that I don't miss small pieces of geometry? Any tips or hints or pointers on this - I'm just getting started.

Advertisement
I've been thinking about this problem some more - once I map all the faces into the shadow map, do I walk across the shadow map and cast the rays from the lightsource to those faces at some resolution, or is it the other way around?

Quote:
Original post by Sphet
I've been thinking about this problem some more - once I map all the faces into the shadow map, do I walk across the shadow map and cast the rays from the lightsource to those faces at some resolution, or is it the other way around?

I assume that by "shadow map" you mean "lightmap".

Theoretically, they should be the same thing. This means that they should yield the same result BUT it might be beneficial for you to start from the lightsource and not the face or vice-versa. The reason for is that you want your rays to intersect with your geometry as soon as possible so as to minimize the number of your collision checks. If you implement a data structure that informs you on where it is best to start from, you will see performance gains.

When I was going through lightmapping, I found GameDev and www.flipcode.com to be the best pools of knowledge so search them as much as you can.