• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
King of Men

[java] Question about generics

This topic is 4603 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

So I've got this class that can determine a price for several different goods. I often want to sort by this price; since sorting is time-consuming and frequent, I am concerned about performance. (I may be optimising prematurely. Please consider this also as a theoretical question, because I'm new to generics and want to learn how they work.) Here is my class :
abstract class Bidder implements Comparable<Bidder> {
  private static int sortByIndex;

public double getMaxPrice (int thisResource);
  public double getMaxAmount (int thisResource);

public int compareTo (Bidder dat) {
    // Not consistent with equals.

if (getMaxPrice(sortByIndex) > dat.getMaxPrice(sortByIndex)) return 1;
    else if (getMaxPrice(sortByIndex) < dat.getMaxPrice(sortByIndex)) return -1;
    else return 0;
  }

private static void sortBidders (Bidder[] theBidders, int index) {
    // Sorts the Bidders in order of their price for index.
    sortByIndex = index;
    Arrays.sort(theBidders);
  }
}

The question is, is this the same as, faster than, or slower than the old 1.4.2 method where I would write an explicit cast into the compareTo (Object) method? I don't quite understand how the underlying bytecode works; I know it's not the same as a C++ template, but apart from that I am clueless. Could someone enlighten me?

Advertisement
Sun has a nice PDF lying around which explains a lot about generics:
http://java.sun.com/j2se/1.5/pdf/generics-tutorial.pdf