• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
supagu

OpenGL compiling opengl /w codeblocks on linux

This topic is 4703 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

im a linux newb, but wanna compile my opengl app on linux. Problem is my codeblocks project cant find gl/gl.h how am i supposed to set up the includes/libs for my project to find this? i searched my drive and it came up with gl/gl.h in some nnvidia folder which is not good! i would have expected it in some non-driver specific location like one tut said it should be in usr/include/gl which doesnt exist :-/ do i need so install some package for this or something?

Advertisement
Quote:
Original post by supagu
im a linux newb, but wanna compile my opengl app on linux. Problem is my codeblocks project cant find gl/gl.h

how am i supposed to set up the includes/libs for my project to find this?

i searched my drive and it came up with gl/gl.h in some nnvidia folder which is not good! i would have expected it in some non-driver specific location like one tut said it should be in usr/include/gl which doesnt exist :-/

do i need so install some package for this or something?

Linux distributions don't necesseraly come with OpenGL libraries by default (like windows). Possible sources are: MESA for a non-accelerated OpenGL implementation or the driver by the vendor of your graphics card for hardware accelerated OpenGL.

Did you install the nvidia drivers yourself? Perhaps someone chose to install them into that nvidia directory, rather than the usual dirs. In that case it should work fine all the same. If you want them to be in usr/include and usr/lib then you should probably just download the current driver from www.nvidia.com. Getting latest driver is probably a good idea anyway.

Tom