• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  

RPG Wiki discussion

This topic is 4417 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

This is a problem I have been pondering for some time now. Say I'm a developer interested in developing an RPG game (commercial or otherwise, it doesn't matter). I have a choice to make at the planning stage of the game: which fictional world to set my game in. At first glance this seems like a simple enough choice, I can use one of the following options: 1) Use a fantasy world already developed by one or more Authors, such as Middle Earth, AD&D Forgotten Realms, or Games Workshops "Old World". 2) Get my writers to create a new world from scratch. However, both options can have disadvantages. For 1) you will require the explicit permission of whoever owns the intellectual property rights (copyright) to that world. This could turn out to be a real problem for an indie development team if you set your heart on a specific world and then get turned down by the copyright holders. There is one instance I know of where this is not the case - the 80 year copyright on the world used as the setting for the "Conan" books is actually due to expire soon, after which you can set your game in Conans world without having to ask anyones permission, and without having to pay any royalties. For 2) I think a big risk is being taken. Authoring a detailed and convincing fantasy world is no mean feat, and can take time away from the more important task of authoring a plot/sub-plots for the game itself. Indie gaming teams may not be up to the job. I have thought of a potential solution to the problem though. Why not start a fantasy world as a wiki? Writers, artists and so on could contribute to the wiki with stories, artwork, maps, characters, histories etc. The conditions of contribution would be that anyone could use the material you s