Physics & Networking

Started by
6 comments, last by GameDev.net 18 years, 3 months ago
Hi, I'm trying to make a small race-game to play with friends over the network, something like Micro Machines. I don't have that much time for this project, so I decided to use ODE for the car physics (and since I'm bad in physics myself...). That could work nice, but I'm afraid synchronizing the game over the network will be very difficult with more advanced physics like ODE does. So before I continue with ODE physics, I'd like to make sure if it works with networking. I have very little experience with making network games, but I do know synchronizing everything is a difficult job. You could send the current matrices of all cars over the network, but since other clients also need to predict movement to fill the lag, clients should also know something about their movement directions and velocity, I think. I could let every client use ODE, and send the player commands like 'thottle', 'steer to the left' or 'break'. But I'm afraid the actual car positions/angles will differ completely on each client after a short while. Therefore, I could also send the matrix of each car over the network to correct the cars. But would that work well? Can ODE handle the position/rotation changes every time? Or does it mess up the current physical state? Another 'solution' could be letting the server calculate ALL the physics. Clients won't do anything with physics, they only receive the car matrix so they can put them in the right place. But then again, how to predict the car movement if the server doesn't update it fast enough? In that case I also need to send data for all other small stuff that can collide with the cars, like barrels stacked up beside the track. Does anyone have some good ideas? Greetings, Rick
Advertisement
Hmm, I haven't done any network coding, so please take this up with a grain of salt :P