C#

Started by
7 comments, last by superpig 18 years, 3 months ago
I've heard of this language before but I'm not too familiar with it. Is it better than C or C++? What can it do? Is the "New Language of the Age" or something? lol. Rapidarp
Advertisement
http://genamics.com/developer/csharp_comparative.htm
So basically it's a stronger, more simplified version of C++?
I've had a good look at C# over the last 12 months and my first thoughts were why did MS invent this language with the myriad of other languages we have, but giving it a chance i think it's a great language for developing windows forms apps. I'm sure it could be as equally as powerful for game programming also. I however, will stick to C/C++ for gaming applications though as there is a massive wealth of resources on it.
Mordt: I'm just a beginner C++ programmer so take my advice with a grain of salt.Krayven Entertainment
Quote:Original post by rapidarp
So basically it's a stronger, more simplified version of C++?
Personally, I'd say it's closer to Java. In any case, I think it's one that'll be useful to have some experience with.
I wouldn't say c# is "stronger" or a "successor" to c++ really...

When they designed C# they took influence from c++ and java(which itself got influence from c++ and smalltalk). I don't see anything revolutionary about it, it is just another language in the series of evolution of languages.

What's big about it is that microsoft is pushing C# applications (running on the microsoft CLR) as the next thing for windows.

Definitely they simplified a lot of the features of c++, and added new features as well. I don't personally like C# as a language, though, so I will continue to use java and C++.
Quote:Original post by rapidarp
Is it better than C or C++?

Yes*.

Quote:What can it do?

Probably most things that you would want it to.

Quote:Is the "New Language of the Age" or something?

No.

John B

* This statement is based on the following evidence: